e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
August 06, 2004 | 01:37
Of summer flicks

So it is Friday. There was a lot of times throughout the week where I though "I need to write about that in my blog." They were not all that important to write about. But still I wish I had time during the week to update.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
In some ways I liked this one much better than the previous films, which felt like they plodded along a bit too much. It's not realistic to put in everything from the book.
Because of the new director, the film had an overall mood that was enhanced by the colour palette used in this time, lots of greys and blues and mostly stark. I liked it overall, it's the first, for me, that had emotional resonance.

Spiderman 2
I thought the movie was good but did anyone else find it a bit confusing? What was the whole point of Dr. Octopus remaking the fusion machine? Or was it just his arms were telling him to remake the machine, that having it work was somehow in their best interest, if they wanted to go on "living" or something.

I dunno, somehow Spiderman 2 has never pulled me in as much as the X2 though it had a lot of inconsistencies as well.

I, Robot
"I, Robot" movie in no way resembles Isaac Asimov's novel. The movie comes off as standard action faire, and it certainly contains elements of he stereotypical sci-fi/action flick, but in the end it comes out on the alright side of mediocre. Sure there are some plot twists that one sees coming a mile away, but it doesn't matter as it is a fun movie to watch. The mostly CGI robots are truly believable, and the suspension of disbelief is maintained throughout. That said, "I, Robot" is an okay action movie. Noisy, nonsensical - a pop-corn movie. Though horrifying to Asimov's readers.

Speaking of Sci-fi flicks, I came up an idea with my friends that we started up to re-watch a 80s sci-fi movie every other Sat afternoon. Just saw the first movie last Sat, it was RoboCop, I've only seen it on tv when I was a kid and some violent scenes had been edit out. I'm shock to know that RoboCop was excessively violent, but it is integral to the plot, I liked it because it all served a purpose. Great re-watch. Nice to see a movie tying things up so neatly. For example, to killing Ronny Cox after the CEO says, "You're fired", thus making it logical for Robocop to kill an employee of OCP.

Our next one is Total Recall, which I'm totally excited about it.

Besides whining about Japanese class, I found myself some ample reading time to catch up on a few books. Therefore I got re-read some novels, they are 1984, Animal Farm, I, Robot and Lord of Flies. I'll try to write down my general impression.

Listen to Nintendo - Super Mario Brothers


previous / next