e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
September 25, 2003 | 00:55
more in Tianjin

I just know the system that the China government uses to block out pro-democracy activisits' websites or other "objectionable" content on internet known derisively as the Great Wall.

What I want to read is just some news, when my brother forward his yahoo photo album to me on icq, it reminds me that the news address is a sub-domain, http://news.yahoo.com.hk, I quickly type in the address in a new tab, it works fine and pages load perfectly the way they supposed to! Yay to sub-domain!

I walked down the creepy street tonigth and since Frank mentioned the glitch in the Matrix, I believe the hotel I'm staying also has a little defect needs to be fixed, more on the creepy block and the defect later.

Listen to


September 23, 2003 | 08:41
Ever seen a dark street with green lighting?

Green lighting is pretty hard to find examples of, I think some of those horror movies use green light in nightscapes or some ghosts with a green light shining on their face, since green is a less common color for light sources in reality. But here in China, I've seen they like to use this strange anomalous green light instead of the commonly-seen yellow color street lamp. The street looks so creepy!

Listen to


September 23, 2003 | 01:07
just keep walking

I was at the shopping mall nearby last night, when I asked the cashier if they accept visa, she said yes and ask if I'm a japanese or korean because of my not so fluent mandarin with un-tianjinese-accent. She looked disappointed when I told her I'm from Hong Kong. oh, I'm sorry too.

The hotel I'm staying is somewhere in the middle at work and the shopping mall, basically they're within walk distance, in my standard, 15-20mins walk is acceptable. There is no bus service or metro I could take, and it's too short for a cab ride. So I have to go to work on foot, walking is an additionally good idea and it seems like a light exercise. I also found something spooky in the neighborhood on the way back to hotel, which I'll tell you later, it's just something I don't understand.

Listen to


September 22, 2003 | 19:59
To sum up last week's main event.

Derek drove me off the the airport, then Ming arrived we went to check in, it started the adventure. The flight was peaceful, I got to sleep very well and skip the lunch they served.

Work - The book fair was successful, we met the existing clients, introduced our new titles to them and got to know some new clients. We plant our seeds on the ground and hope they will germinate into fruitful results.

Food - I decided to eat spicy food in Beijing, I have to order food for everyone at dinner, including an English client who is a vegan, my boss who doesn't eat beef because of his religion belief, and two English meat-eating-beast coworkers. But I still managed to do that very well, everyone is happy after meals. Food was abundant, cheap and good in Beijing. Among restaurants, I particularly remember one Sichua restaurant in the Oriental Plaza, where we had a memorable dish of spicy sliced lamb and tasty tofu soup blend with salty duck egg-yolk.

Sight seeing - We stayed at the Taiwan Hotel near the Forbidden City. Spent a lot of time walking in our neighborhood (Wangfujing Street or Tiananmen) and went to Yonghegong lamasery.

Weather - It rain during my stay in Beijing, I had thought that rain was rare in this dry area of China so it's pretty surprising, by the time we got off from work, the rain had stopped, it was cool outside but it didn't reduce the denseness of the smog, the smog was still so thick in the air.

6kiss, I'm not the only one who had been filter out by the China government, but the whole blogspot.com. The China government is filtering out a list of domains including yahoo.com.hk and geocity.com, not to mention www.atnext.com. It's simply disgusting! I know they're doing this inside a major university in Beijing. AH! I want to read hk local newspaper!

Listen to


September 21, 2003 | 23:20
I'm still alive

I'm alive. I haven't been around for a few days because of a nasty dial up network and work had been stressful. At the moment, I'm staying in Tianjin, bored and tired as hell. Get very very annoyed that I can't connect to my own "blog", but I can update it, it's just weird.

Listen to


previous / next