e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
September 13, 2003 | 00:38
our Mid-Autumn Festival

Mid-Autumn Festival

just updated my photo album, these pictures were taken from last night. the lightsaber model is Dark Vader and Luke Skywalker made by TOMY. around thirty thousand yen each, bought in Tobu department store, ikebukuro, tokyo, japan.

have to wake up at 6 tomorrow and take the earliest flight to beijing. tomorrow suppose to be a long weekend holiday. why would i have to fly tomorrow? on weekend. why can't i make it on monday?

Listen to


September 11, 2003 | 01:17
-

Listen to


September 09, 2003 | 23:29
some myths about Mid-Autumn Festival

I will be having a barbecue this Thursday night (Mid-Autumn festival), our last barbecue in April was a blast! We had loads of fun, I love that honey roast chicken wing a lot!

Speaking of Mid-Autumn Festival, the best part of it wasn't eating mooncake or watching the moon, but it was the only day in the whole year that we (as a kid) could play with fire, candles, stay up late, roam around in parks and we would paraded through the neighborhood with lanterns. When I was in primary school, making our own lantern was one of the art project in class. I want to have Rabbit Lantern this year, very old-style which lighted by candles. Kids today are buying plastic blowup models that use battery-powered light bulbs, it's a shame they don't like the paper lanterns anymore and the adults think it's far too dangerous for kids.

There are some old myths about the moon, I know one is that once upon a time, many thousands years ago, there was a man who had an elixir for eternal life, his wife drank it and fled to the moon where she still lives. Another one is The Rabbit lives on the moon but I'm not sure how it goes, I think it's a story from Buddhist literature.

Then there is this story behind celebrating Mid-Autumn festival with mooncake started at around 14th century, when China was ruled by the Moguls, one year a revolt was planned but needed to find a way to unite the people together on the same day without letting the Moguls know. Some devised a great idea to hide messages in the mooncake and widely distributed it. Needless to say the revolt was very successful and overthrew the Moguls. Since then mooncake becomes a must-have item on Mid-Autumn Festival. Mid-Autumn Festival is also a time for contemplation, full moon represents reunion, while it indicates the aspect of the whole family.

Changing topic, I was sitting in my Japanese class yesterday and everything my tutor said sounded like another *foreign* language. The verbal tenses are very confusing. I sat there and wondering if I'm the only person in the class who didn't understand anything. It seems as though everybody else is comprehending - but I'm not. Is it just me that can't understand the verbal tenses? Ah!

Today music: DJ Shadow - Endtroducing

Listen to


September 09, 2003 | 00:12
it's only monday...!

I heard DJ Shadow's Six Days on Saturday at Poly Uni basement and honestly was amazed!It's so dreamy, good to listen to before going to sleep, relaxing and even soothing. Six Days is easily on the top of my today playlist. I'm buying The Private Press this week before I leave.

Listen to


September 06, 2003 | 00:37
Article 23 is dead! (at least for a while)

Chief Executive Tung Chee-hwa said today there is no timetable to push the bill into law, and therefore no plan for the bill until fully public consulted.

I'm so proud for what we did on the 1st of July, marching up against the article 23*. This is entirely what I was hoping for and I am especially pleased to heard this from the news. All our sweat finally paid off big time! Tung got to heard from the people's voice.

*an anti-subversion bill required under Article 23 of The Basic Law, threatens Hong Kong's political, religious and media freedoms.

Listen to


September 05, 2003 | 22:19
this week is going by fast

I received the tickets today and get more excited as each day passes and a little nervous, I'm going to Beijing in less than 10 days for two weeks, it looks like I have the grand total of 3 days of free time to have a bit of a sight-see, I've been to a lot of places so there isn't much to "sight-see" in Beijing, but I am also going with some co-workers, they might be happy to walk around the city.

Work has been somewhat stressful lately, things get loaded on my desk, looming deadlines and apparently the very junior designer I'm working with doesn't know the difference between CMYK and RGB color mode. I've spent 2 extra hours last night just to check up the files are okay to output films.

On the bright side of this week, Wednesday night after Japanese lesson, had dinner at the Lotus with Chans, Eddie, Gabriel, Al-bear and two new guests - Ian and Raey. It seems every time I met them in Central we would ended up in Lotus. As usual, we ordered 6 different dishes but never 7, in Cantonese, order 7 dishes will bring bad luck to the table. Afterwards we went to Yiu Wah Street for some drinks and started talking non-stop over various subjects including GOSSIP!

Listen to


September 03, 2003 | 00:38
I'm laughing so hard I hurt

Just sitting here in my designer chair on a regular night, chatting with people on iChat and humming a Marilyn Manson's song .....and check out a funny site to hear some stand up mp3s.

The Geek Wants Out by Ernest Cline

WOW!! I was laughing uproariously and almost fell out of chair!!

[Man, I'm laughing hard as I write this.]

Many thanks to Leden for introducing me to the link.

Listen to


previous / next