e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
October 25, 2003 | 02:02
Night of Panther, oh yeah!

Went to Night of Panther with Al-bear, Chainsaw, Tiney, Fai, Eddie, Gabriel and Unx. Chainsaw was lucky enough to got a free copy of Final Cut Pro Express from Apple HK. Later the night we had a nice chat at McCafe.

Listen to


October 21, 2003 | 21:38
view outside my window

I'm getting bored with the Osaka picture so above is the view from my window.

I'm living on the twentieth floor of a 31 story building. Between two buildings there is a railway, this is the only part above ground in Island Line, the two buildings on the hill are Pamela Youde Nethersole Eastern Hospital.

Listen to


October 21, 2003 | 01:26
Kill Bill, Akira Kurosawa

I can't stop thinking about Kill Bill, the silhouette fighting when the lights are out. I laughed when O-Ren behead Tanaka and the blood squirts up at least 7 feet high just like fountain! I think Uma's wearing Bruce Lee bright yellow track suit simply because her revenge is a Game of Death, which might be telling her tragic ending in Kill Bill Vol.2.

All the music was great, Iove the "Ironside" the moment when Uma locks eyes on Vivivca A. Fox. Such a great vengeance music!

I talked to my kung fu addict coworkers today, just want to make sure that where does Master "white-eyebrow" come from, Master "white-eyebrow" is from Wu-Tang and he's a villain!

In my understanding, Wu-Tang is a school of martial arts under Taoist philosophy - "the holy manual of 9 Yang"*, Shaolin Temple keep the manuscript and a gifted student listen to his master repeated reading of "the holy manual", somehow or other the manuscript were stolen by the villians and the student left Shaolin when his master died and developed his own style of martial arts, started his own school and became a well-known master. Wu-Tang is more concerned with developing "Chi" while Shaolin specialized more on the "Yang".

How could Master "white eyebrow" train the bride Shaolin kung fu as the website indicates?

Kill Bill recommended reading: Study Guide. Thanks to Gabriel for the link!

The video store that sells dead stock video is a great place to looking for classic movie, I got Akira Kurosawa's High and Low and Red Beard dvd for HK$18 each! Mind you, these are the official copies distributed by Mei-Ah! Haven't seen much of Kurosawa's work, the recent is The Bad Sleep Well(5 out of 5!!), after seeing Red Beard, turn out I've seen the remake version when I was in Japan! What a coincidence!

* Holy manual of 9 Yang? I wish I could use a better way to describe it rather than literally translate it. It's so lame!

today music: Kill Bill OST

Listen to


October 18, 2003 | 23:51
hey folks, get ready for the hundred gallons of blood spray!

I didn't want to go to Kill Bill when I saw the poster in mtr station, but only after reading Stuart's comment. I decided to give it a shot.

Went to Kill Bill Vol.1 as planned. I got carded entering the house, Kill Bill in Hong Kong rated must over 18 to see it. I chuckled and asked the guy do I look like underage while I was trying to show my I.D card. I've never got carded in my whole life, it made my day! Derek said he was just trying to get to know me. Whatever. Yay! I still look young and fresh!

The following is my thoughts of Kill Bill in random point form, a bit spoiler here.

  • The Shawns Brother tribute logo made me laugh! It's so 70s! I never though I would see it in a theater! The first scene of the bride is somewhat disgusting, she's badly beaten, bloodied and bruised with Bill's voice off the screen and suddenly a big bang and splash of blood! Luckily it's done in black N white. Later Nancy Sinatra's "Bang Bang" plays in the background is cool!
  • Tarantino mixed violence, romance and samurai's spirit so well! He replaces his lengthy dialogues signature with an extremely bloody but beautifully done sequence. If you're looking for kung fu in his first movie in 6 years, you'll probably disappointed as it's only samurai swordfighting with tons of sound effect, like the sound of steel slicing flesh or blade deceptions.
  • I like the split screen as Daryl Hannah changes into nurse outfit (her white eyepatch with the Red Cross on it even!) while Uma lays on bed in coma. It really works! The other thing I don't like in this chapter is Uma's ugly feet!
  • The anime of O-Ren's tale, I thought I was going to see some Ghost in the shell style anime, but it's okay to see that style. The metallic finish of the sword is incredible!
  • It's great to see Sonny Chiba and Gordon Liu!
  • Lucy Liu played O-Ren so well that I think she kicks more ass in Kill Bill than in Charlie's angels. The moment she's being scalped, "it's a true Hattori Hanzo's sword!" is awesome, what a honor to die under such a great sword!
  • Uma cut off Sophie's arm is a little stimulating, seeing her soaked in blood and still screaming in pain, her blood is dripping off the screen!! (Like Bio Hazard 1 in GameCube)
  • Gogo? I'm a little disappointed, she dies so soon! And she doesn't need that weapon, I would rather see her with a pair of ninja short-sword.
  • Uma Vs Gordon Liu and The Crazy 88 gang is incredible too, limbs get hacked off left and right, heads go flying and there is one sliced in half! Blood sprinkles like hell and the Blue Leaves House end up a pool of blood. The whole scene reminds of some old Samurai flicks and the limbs from Kaimen raider. I really like limbs! Limbs such as stormtroopers, Crazy 88 and those from Kamen Raider, the kick ass hero in the movie will be lonely without them!
  • The couple in front of me walked out when Uma kidnapped Sophie, I feel sorry for them for going to a wrong movie, I know some people wouldn't like it or let just say Kill Bill isn't their cup of tea. Frankly speaking I often found movie never sucks, it depends on is it your type.
  • All in all, I've seen tons of violent movies but Kill Bill tops my violent movie list. I look forward to Kill Bill Vol. 2, for the sake's of "white eyebrow" Kung Fu master Pei Mei!!!

    Listen to


    previous / next