e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
e v e r y . l i t t l e . s e c r e t
August 22, 2003 | 21:16
The red lover

Whenever someone blurts out that something (e.g. movie or music) sucks without giving a reasonable explanation of why, I keep wondering.....wait a minute....is that really enough to make it sucks?

Hey Chainsaw, if you're reading this, regarding to your entry of "cheap vcd", I watched two Leslie Cheung movies "Rouge" and a more obscure one called "A Time To Remember" or in Chinese "Red Lovers" the other day. Made by Mainland China, just a HK$11.00 VCD, and I wonder how many people in HK have ever watched this film? You would be appalled that the late Leslie played this Communist Leader character so well that it reveals this pop legend could be quite a left-wing person! Near the end he danced this Cultural Revolution sort of dance - that I think Leslie's fans would have their jaws dropped !!!

Listen to


August 22, 2003 | 01:49
Knight-errant spirit

An Introduction to the Wuxia Genre

Later on from the last blog, Louis Cha's novel is not only "Martial Arts", okay, it has some certain pages of fighting, but more than that, it's the spirit of the man or knight-errant that matters. I found the link above gives full explanation of what I want to say about Knight-errant's spirit.

If there is a Knight-errant(in Chinese standard) in Western, and to my knowledge I think Aragorn in Lord of the ring fits in this catergory. Not only because he's the King of Gondor, simply because he's wise, skillful in sword and being all faithful to his friends.

Listen to


August 21, 2003 | 19:49
A Deadly Secret

I just finished off reading Louis Cha* - A Deadly Secret**, not as sublime as Fox Volant of Snowy Mountain or The Book and the Sword, no wonder this one is less popular. My next recommend reading from colleague is "The Legend of the Condor Heroes", after that, the legendary epic of martial arts and the love story between student & teacher - "The Condor Lovers". But my sister has "The Sword Stained with Royal Blood" so I will read it first.

Hopefully in the forseeable future I will start to read "Demi Gods and Semi Devils", all my colleagues regarded this as the greatest pieces of Louis Cha.

* a.k.a Jin Yong, the most popular Chinese writer of 15 martial arts novels, dozens of tv drama series or movies have been made based on his stories. It's a shame if you haven't read any of his fiction.

** the fiction I brought half year ago and mentioned on earlier blog.

Listen to


August 20, 2003 | 01:00
brain dear

I got off work at 8:30 pm, brain dead. August is the month we gear up for the book fair in Beijing next month. So it has been so busy, making appointments, organizing stuffs for the show, booking tickets & hotel. My itinerary is finally fixed, I will be leaving Hong Kong on the weekend right after Mid autumn festival and will be back home around early October. I haven't got a chance to talk to my boss yet, I'm not able to travel more than 2 weeks because Japanese lessons start on September and I can't catch up after having 4 lessons absent. We'll see.

I'll leave you right now with the song I've been listen to non-stop recently. It's called World End Supernova, from Quruli.

Listen to


previous / next